Buxton Festival Fringe announces awards for 2011

PRESS RELEASE July 24th 2011 for immediate release

Buxton Festival Fringe presented its eagerly awaited Fringe Awards on Sunday, July 24th in the Dome, home of Fringe sponsor, the University of Derby Buxton.

Chair Stephanie Billen gave a warm welcome to the Mayor and Mayoress of High Peak, Councillor David Lomax and Mrs Hilary Lomax, Opera House Chief Executive Andrew Aughton and Fringe supporter Trevor Osborne of The Osborne Group as well as to Fringe committee members, Fringe Friends, reviewers and the all-important performers, who attended in high numbers. She also praised the high standard of entrants to this, the 32nd Buxton Fringe: "It's the biggest Fringe ever but I'm particularly excited by the quality this year. I love giving out awards but I am also very aware that some performers may be disappointed. The truth is we greatly appreciate all of you."

In the much sought-after theatre categories, Shadow Syndicate, a youth drama group from Mansfield, were double winners - with their drama, Fugee, winning Young Production, and Chris William winning the Young Actor award for his role in the show. The play Big Daddy Vs Giant Haystacks won Theatre Production, with Nick Danan winning the Actor prize for the title role in the sell-out production of Macbeth in Poole's Cavern.

Local winners included Packhorse Poets, artist Andrea Joseph, the exhibition Playing with Pattern, singer Laura Monaghan, Derbyshire City & County Youth Orchestra and High Peak Magicians' Society.

The Fringe is very grateful not only to the people and venues of Buxton for their support but to its financial backers including main sponsor the University of Derby Buxton, The Osborne Group, High Peak Borough Council, The Old Hall Hotel (who funded the awards certificates), and, a new funder for the Fringe, The Cavendish Shopping Arcade.

Award winners receive free entry to next year's Fringe, plus certificates. The full list of nominations is as follows, with the winners printed in bold:



Ed Reardon: A Writer's Burden (Angela Browne Ltd)

Holmes and Watson (Max and Ivan) AWARD

In Pursuit of Miss Adventure (Lab Monkey Productions)


John Cooper (Danny Pensive's Map of Britain)

Henning Wehn (No Surrender)

James Sherwood (I Fed My Best Friend Her Favourite Cow)

Isy Suttie (Pearl & Dave) AWARD


Richard (Makoto Inoue Ind.) AWARD


Open Shorts 2011 AWARD

For Families

The Clock Master (Sparkle and Dark's Travelling Players) AWARD

The Enormous Turnip and Other Stories (Little GIANT Productions)

Granny's Big Top Tale! (Little Pixie Productions)



Derbyshire CCYO Summer Concert (Derbyshire City & County Youth Orchestra) AWARD


Laura Monaghan (Women in Love: An Evening of Song and Opera) AWARD

Margaret Ferguson (An Evening with Africa's First Lady of Song)

Susie Self (Music and the Muse: The Poet's Way - Selfmade Music)

Rosina Al-Shaater (Rosie & The Ragdolls)

Large Ensemble

Burbage Band (Anniversary Concert)

City of Manchester Opera (Magical Opera Moments)

Amaretti Chamber Orchestra (Music for Strings) AWARD

Small Ensemble

Mart Rodger Manchester Jazz & Mart's ManJazz4 or 5 (Mart's Trad Jazz Evening)

Fordante (Popular Films and Light Classical Music Concert)

Emlyn Vaughan (The River Story)

Salmagundi (Salmagundi at the Railway)

Timothy Kennedy & Catherine Hall-Smith (Songs of Romance)

The Ryebank Trio (Three's a Crowd) AWARD

Most enjoyable

Jake Thackray Rides Again (Keith E Smith)

Music for a While (Angela Rowley & James Pelham)

Pieces for Eight (Sovereign Saxophone Octet) AWARD


Ordsall Acapella Singers (Singing from the Heart)

Sheffield Chorale (Music to Hear)

Ladybrook Singers (Summer Serenade) AWARD

Solo Instrumentalist

Simon Beesley (Chamber music for Oboe & Strings)

Richard Taylor (Harmony Tour)

Jonathan Ellis (Legends of the piano and various other shows)

Katrina Brown (High Peak Orchestra - Viola Concerto) AWARD

Ailsa Hoyle (Summer Serenade)

Miriam Brown (Summer Serenade)

New Writing

Salmagundi (Salmagundi at the Railway) AWARD

Spoken Word

Ann Atkinson & the Packhorse Poets (Packhorse Poets)

An evening with Ian McMillan and Roy Fisher (Packhorse Poets) AWARD

Love and Loss: Tales from Imagined Lands by Kat Quatermass (Dreamfired Productions)

Glassball Presents - A Lyric in Limestone (Mark Gwynne Jones and the Psychicbread)

Richard Tyrone Jones Has a Big Heart (Utter! Spoken Word)

Street Theatre

The Shakespeare Jukebox (Dick, Gerard & Maria, Buxton Drama League) AWARD



15% of the Seagull (Mayer & Martin)

Bane / Bane 2 / Bane 3 (Whitebone Productions)

Being Nice by Mark Niel (Ashrow Theatre Co.)

Big Daddy Vs. Giant Haystacks (The Foundry Group (with The Ornate Johnsons)) AWARD

Blitz Bride by Claire Spratt (Planet Rabbit Productions Ltd)

Dev's Army by Stuart D Lee (Elysion Productions)

Double Booked (Ginny Davis Productions)

Excuse me, I'm trying to please you (Fiona and Friends)

Hyde by Polis Loizou (Thunder Road Theatre)

Macbeth Underground in Poole's Cavern (Butterfly)

Young Drama

4.48 Psychosis by Sarah Kane (Craft Theatre Company)

Fugee by Abi Morgan (Shadow Syndicate) AWARD

A Midsummer Night's Dream by William Shakespeare (Young REC Theatre Company)


Ceridwen Smith (Monkey from The Clock Master)

Joe Bone (Bane from Bane)

Ross Gurney-Randall (Big Daddy from Big Daddy Vs. Giant Haystacks)

David Mounfield (Giant Haystacks from Big Daddy Vs. Giant Haystacks)

Richard Sails (Paddy from Dev's Army)

Stephen Wymark (Harry Rouen from Fragments)

Anna Hudson (Stacey from The Haunting)

Christopher Ward (Utterson from Hyde)

Nick Danan (Macbeth from Macbeth) AWARD

George Telfer (Graham Chapman from Not the Messiah)

Timothy Mann (Space)

Sharon Lancaster (Judith from That's not the way to do it)

Young Actor

Elsje Hugo (Liz, from Billy Liar)

Chris William (Kojo from Fugee) AWARD

Laura Stafford (Ara from Fugee)

Annie Osborne (Hermia from A Midsummer Night's Dream)

Ellie Burke (Quince from A Midsummer Night's Dream)

James Chetwood (Puck from A Midsummer Night's Dream)

Visual Arts


The Derbyshire Open 2011

Landscape and Flowers: Paintings and Photographs

Playing with Pattern AWARD

The Great Dome Art Fair


Alan Bailey (Landscape and Flowers)

Suzy Shackleton (The Great Dome Art Fair)

Andrea Joseph (Strictly Ballpoint) AWARD

Harry McArdle (The Derbyshire Open)

Other Events

Buxton Military Tattoo (ABF The Soldiers' Charity)

Evening of Close Up Magic (High Peak Magicians Society) AWARD

New Writing

Ed Readon: A Writer's Burden by Christopher Douglas

Big Daddy Vs. Giant Haystacks by Brian Mitchell & Joseph Nixon

Dev's Army by Stuart D Lee AWARD

Telling Lives by Eric Northey

Witzelsucht & Moria by G C Morgan

Spirit of the Fringe

Go with the Flow (Local Vocals)

Flat on my back seeing stars: Victor Barstool (Dolls House) AWARD

Buxton Day of Dance (Chapel-en-le-Frith Morris Men)